vendredi 29 juin 2007

When spamming is not enough...

Mark W. Mumma from webguy.net is one of those numerous active ennemies of spammers. He's been fighting spam for years, mainly by creating his own website about three years ago, SueaSpammer.com

He was posting everything he was getting from senders of unsollicited commercial E-mail, and had warned them he would always do so.

Now the beginning of his troubles started when a company called Omega World Travel (Cruise.com's parent company in fact) decided to prosecute him.
The company's main mobile for attacking him was slandering, as they had been called "spammers" by Mark W. Mumma.

During the trial, Mark was accused by OWT's attorney to have signed up for commercial offers.

Mark pointed out that "Cruise.com failed to use its real name, announcing itself as 'FL-Broadcast.net', a domain they have never owned. A complete fabrication."

Cruise.com's witnesses replied that they had never owned that domain, though Cruise.com admitted that an unknown Comcast Cable Internet subscriber in Illinois signed up Mark's e-mail address. They also admitted that they are not preventing anyone from signing up some else's e-mail address, mainly, as said by Cruise.com CEO Anthony Hamawy, "primarly because our competitors don't."

Mark has been sentenced to pay $2.5 million in damages, but a hearing made Omega World Travel having to choose between accepting a lowered damage award of $330000 or having a new trial.

Mark stated that "once a judgment is entered, I will have thirty days to file an appeal; however, without a little help from other weary and tired e-mail users, there is no way I can afford it. This lawsuit has wiped me out financially. If possible, I want to try to get a grass roots effort organized to take the fight back to spammers everywhere. If other Internet users want me to keep fighting the good fight, I'll do it. Appealing the decision in my case is important to get the war on spam back on track. Proactively going after spam and LUCE offenders alike needs to continue. I refuse to just lie down and die."

Considering how spammers are feeling "safe" at the moment, even though law enforcement is catching more and more, yes, we are definitely aware that this affair *is* very important.

The complete press release is here
Internet users can help Mark by sending money here
Finally, Mark's own website about the whole trial can be found here

jeudi 21 juin 2007

La Chine en 3e position

Voici encore un domaine où la croissance de la Chine est particulièrement forte : les noms de domaine. Avec, plus de 5,3 millions de domaines au 31 mai 2007, ".cn" est désormais la 3ème extension nationale (ccTLD) la plus présente au monde, derrière les domaines en ".de" (Allemagne) et ".uk" (Royaume-Uni).

Ce Grand Bond en avant (sic) s'explique notamment par l'opération "one yuan CN domain name" mise en place en mars dernier par le registre chinois CNNIC. Rappel : 1 yuan corrrespond à 0,13 dollar.

Cet organisme a d'ailleurs décidé de prolonger cette réduction jusqu'à la fin de l'année 2007. Une nouvelle qui sera sans doute peu appréciée des titulaires de marques, qui font régulièrement les frais de cybersquatteurs chinois de plus en plus nombreux.

Il conviendra néanmoins de surveiller l'an prochain le taux de renouvellement de ces domaines, car il en coutera alors entre 80 et 100 yuans pour les prolonger au-delà de la 1ère année. De plus, la future extension ".asia", dont la première période d'ouverture a été repoussée à septembre 2007, pourrait également contribuer à ralentir le nombre d'enregistrements de domaines chinois.

mardi 12 juin 2007

"Facture" sâlée pour TJX

HarborOne, une des institutions financières touchées par le piratage de TJX, lui a fait parvenir la facture : 590K$ ! Soit 90K$ pour les 9K cartes à réémettre (10$), et 500K$ de dommages pour atteinte à l'image.

En faisant une règle de trois, on se rend compte que la seule prise en charge du renouvellement des cartes compromises coûterait dans l'absolu 457 millions de dollars à TJX !

Mais la loi n'autorise (pour l'instant) que certaines instances gouvernementales telles la FTC et les consortiums Visa, Mastercard, etc... à sanctionner financièrement la société. Cette opération médiatique n'a ainsi que peu de chance d'aboutir en l'état. Cette "facture" sert en fait à appuyer l'intense lobbying des institutions financières pour une telle règlementation au niveau fédéral et/ou des Etats.

Une première loi est entrée en vigueur dans l'état du Minnesota pour contraindre les détaillants à adopter les standards PCI de Visa/Mastercard, qui interdisent notamment de stocker les données bancaires après transaction. Les détaillants de cet Etat peuvent désormais être tenus financièrement responsable en cas de compromission.

5 autres Etats, dont la Californie, sont en passe de faire de même.

lundi 4 juin 2007

Le mois des bogues des moteurs de recherche

La mode des "Month of <...> Bugs" n'est toujours pas essoufflée ! Dernier exemple en date, le "Month of Search Engines Bugs" ("Le Mois des Bogues de Moteurs de Recherche") qui a débuté ce vendredi 1er juin. L'idée est de montrer du doigt certaines faiblesses dans les plus grands portails de recherche sur le Web, tels que Google, MSN ou Yahoo!, mais aussi sur les moteurs de recherche locaux embarqués sur nos machines.

A ce jour, cinq vulnérabilités de type Cross-Site Scripting ont été présentées :

  • deux vulnérabilités dans le moteur meta.ua (moteur ukrainien),
  • une vulnérabilité dans Yahoo!,
  • deux vulnérabilités HotBot (appartenant à Lycos).

Cette initiative a au moins le mérite de mettre en lumière différentes exploitations possibles sur des moteurs que la plupart des internautes utilisent pourtant avec une confiance aveugle. Now, wait and see ...

Source : MOSEB - Websecurity

#ROCK phishing gang's new idea...

The #ROCK phishing group has targeted some weeks ago the recruitment website Careerbuilder.com. I was at that time very sceptical and surprised about that, as no financial data were trying to be stolen through these phishing campaigns.

We today have a more precise idea of what these pirates may have been trying to do. We recently saw a job offer on careerbuilder.com that originates from the #Rock group and promotes their mule recruiting websites (in this case AEGIS Capital Group LLC. This website is offline, but you can still see copies of it here or here for example):


As users are nowadays more aware of email scams and particularly representative scams, the phishers have found new ways to propagate their fraudulent job offers. Who would not trust such famous websites as Careerbuilder or Monster indeed ?

Update: A few days ago the gang set up a new template for these mules recruitement websites called "Sydney Car Centre":

  • http://sycarcentre.io
  • http://sydneycentre.io
  • http://scarcentre.hk
  • http://cccentre.hk
  • http://sydneycc.hk
  • …